Oscar Romero/ May 6, 2020/ Day to Day, Welcome/ 0 comments

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Hello fellow readers! Today I have the great honor and pleasure to welcome My Undocu Life’s newest contributor, Barbara Contreras. I’ve recently connected with Barbara and was blown away by her story and her accomplishments. 

She has expressed interest on writing a couple of articles about herself, and her aspirations. She is also excited to share about other topics including, but not limited to, mental health awareness, immigration advocacy, and career readiness. Without further ado, here is a short snippet from Barbara herself.

Barbara Contreras Headshot

Hi!

I am originally from Venezuela. I have lived in the US since I was 8 years old. I have been a DACA recipient since 2012. I grew up on Hilton Head Island, a small touristy island on the coast of South Carolina. I acquired my Communication degree from Queens University at Charlotte. In the past few years after college, I mainly worked in Customer Service for a Corporate Training company and Healthcare. I decided to make a change in my career recently and I am currently working as a Brand Marketing Manager at Newell Brands. 

My family moved to the US back in 2001 looking for a better life for me. When we moved here, it was just my parents and I. Basically, we had no other family near. My parents worked really hard and they still do. All I have ever wanted is to make sure that their sacrifice and effort to move us here is worth it.

Here is a a little more about myself.

I love to run and I completed my first marathon at Kiawah Island in December of 2019. I also married my best friend two weeks later. When I am not working or Volunteering with Circle De Luz (this is where I had the pleasure of meeting Oscar), I am working on home projects. I recently purchased a home with my husband, and I am super excited to become the Latina Joanna Gaines. I also love reading, listening to podcasts, hiking (or any outdoor activity really), and playing with our new puppy. I am trying out CrossFit, which I am still having mixed feelings about. It really depends on the Workout of the Day (WOD). But, most days I spend daydreaming of traveling or other new adventures.

I look forward to sharing more about myself, my family, my journey of who I am, and where I am going!

Share this Post
Avatar

About Oscar Romero

I have had DACA since early 2013. I am currently a Software Engineer at Red Ventures. I went to college at UNC Charlotte and graduated in 2017 with a BA in Mathematics and a minor in Computer Engineering. I went to high school in a small town out in eastern North Carolina. My parents brought me to the United States in 1999 when I was 3 years old. I grew up in NC and aspired to make something worthwhile out of my parent’s hard work and sacrifice.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*